Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum.php)
-   Trading Discussion (https://www.forexfactory.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Support and resistance trading (https://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=881308)

jo24 Feb 9, 2019 2:09pm | Post# 1

Support and resistance trading

Hello. I realized that the most effective trading method is buy/sell at breakout of resistances/supports. It's a method that works most of the times if a trend indicator is used in addiction. And that's the point, "most" of the times not "all", because sometimes price breaks support/resistance but a little, and doesn't continue along the trend. So I'm wondering: how to know currently when the price breaks a support/resistance but turns back and doesn't continue? Is there a way for you? I know "all" is impossible but I would like to improve this method...any opinion is appreciated. Thank you

geanmage13 Feb 11, 2019 7:43am | Post# 2

That is what is called a fake breakout... I am new to this myself but based on research I did and books I read, the only way you can really make sure that it really is an actual breakout is to validate it with Volume. Considering that the S&R or channels are correctly drawn, it will take some effort from the market to surpass those levels. And that effort will show in volumes..

Juan007 Feb 11, 2019 10:00am | Post# 3

1 Attachment(s)
ebeckers
indicator copyright
SupportResistance (2) (1).ex4

pipfarm Feb 11, 2019 10:32am | Post# 4