Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum.php)
-   Commercial Content (https://www.forexfactory.com/forumdisplay.php?f=158)
-   -   A brief summary of what I learned in the past 17 years (https://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=831405)

heshuhan Oct 6, 2018 10:50am | Post# 1

A brief summary of what I learned in the past 17 years

1 Attachment(s)
Dear professional traders and fellow learners of the market,

I would like to take this opportunity to share with you what I've learned over the past 17 years of trading in a brief, easy to understand, point form.

I started trading in the floor around 18, back in 2001. Now I'm 34, and doing my own prop shop.

I'm not a commercial trainer. Most of my teaching is done at various Universities in Asia, primarily for students coming from central banks and commercial banks, specializing on the topic of using FX as means of treasury management, on an institutional/national level.

As a sideline hobby, I do trade on MT4, and develop indicators and EAs for personal/friends use, typically for free.

Let's begin with what I've learned about MT4:

1. MT4 is a Russian software designed with the B-booker in mind., ie. Market Making.
2. Only in the last 10 years where a few companies started making bridges can MT4 truly reflect quotes from larger qualified liquidity providers (LPs)
3. MT4 is a very slow piece of software. It typically display 10-20 ticks at most per second, is single-core non threaded, and most calculations of indicators on MT4 are incorrect and/or misleading due to the inherent weakness of the software. Comparatively, a pro platform can support hundreds to thousands of ticks per second. So please, don't try to do HFT on MT4. Cost and internal latency will eat you up.