Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum.php)
-   Rookie Talk (https://www.forexfactory.com/forumdisplay.php?f=56)
-   -   Finding the best "personal" timeframe! (https://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=78026)

li0uid Mar 27, 2008 5:47pm | Post# 1

Finding the best "personal" timeframe!

As i allready mentioned in some other threads i am quite new to this game.
Now before passing through my trading plan and testing what works or not i would like to get a clue what timeframe to go.

Maybe you could give me some advices. I could imagine following charts 8-12 hours a day maybe longer as long as i am still running own business.
Also i am located in Europe not in the USA (market times / liquidity)

Risk should be small/medium and as far as i am new to this market i donīt want to invest a huge budget (while learning), so i think i am not in the condition to become a position trader and hold out large stop-losses.

thx for help so far,

parlenk Mar 27, 2008 6:30pm | Post# 2

Hi there,

Usually the time frame come as one package with the system.So to try to find a TF first then try the system maybe will take more time.

Finding a TF to play is essential, but you have to look/decide it based on many factors ( cant just pick one because of someone advise or following the other fellow trader).So, as u mentioned,

"still learning",--- middle to higher time frame ( H1-daily)
"small account", and "Cant hold a large SL" --- not really a problem due to sizing position
"can watch the market for 8-10 hours"--- small TF to 4H
"Europe" means active market, this is tricky..active market can kill u if u dont get it right and vice versa, so it's not really the factor right now