Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/)
-   Rookie Talk (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum/56-rookie-talk)
-   -   Success with Martingale & Hedge - Possible? (https://www.forexfactory.com/thread/765739-success-with-martingale-hedge-possible)

ursinho4711 May 19, 2020 3:25pm | Post# 561

{quote} it is best to incorporate the spread in the ea for most settings, that's my advice
It is in the code, please see post #557. Just for my broker (IC-Markets) the calculation in the original EA (GoWithFlow) was ten times too high, that's why I had to change the code.

KashifNawaz May 20, 2020 8:13am | Post# 562

{quote} Hi! I know this post is a little bit older. But just wondering why you think it does not work and why it is badly coded? At least on the tester, it looks okay when playing with some parameters. I did not try it on Demo neither Real account until now. Will put it on Demo EURUSD tomorrow. One thing I would like to add is a "smart grid", growing/shrinking with some reasonable indicator. Just an example (which did not look good in the results): dis=iATR(NULL,240,4,0)*2*10000; Maybe there is a better, faster indicator that avoids huge DDs...
I tried this EA on a real account with broker XM due to many reasons.
XM has higher spreads, so this EA was skipping trades on many levels and also grids were not following (unusual slippage).
I get this code checked from a coder and he said, it is not saving global values ( don't really understand because I am not a programmer)

Somehow, this EA works fine in a demo and on strategy tester. Don't know the reason.

ursinho4711 May 20, 2020 8:31am | Post# 563

I get this code checked from a coder and he said, it is not saving global values
Thanks for the hint, I will check that. I even try to avoid global variables and try to keep them in the function or loops only where they are needed.
Anyway, on demo the EA worked well. But we all know that the real world is a little bit different. I am trying live now on a small real account.

MarkFxAnde May 20, 2020 11:30am | Post# 564

same experienced i already faced , in demo EA worked really great , but when trading in a real account the result was not good and similar as like demo. after sometime i have realized its not a problem about EA its all about the difference between demo and live psychologies. thats all.

KashifNawaz May 20, 2020 12:53pm | Post# 565

1 Attachment(s)
same experienced i already faced , in demo EA worked really great , but when trading in a real account the result was not good and similar as like demo. after sometime i have realized its not a problem about EA its all about the difference between demo and live psychologies. thats all.
Yes agree, demo servers give you a very friendly environment; however a good coded EA with good strategy will win.
Name:  profilepic493624_1.jpg
Views: 878
Size:  19 KB

mathius May 21, 2020 8:47am | Post# 566

{quote} I just wanted to say that i use your latest version of the EA on 14 different currency pairs and im really a big fan of it. Really, really appreciate the effort and time you have but into it. I will add some pictures as well. It makes good small profits every day. I hope to see the latest version bretty soon and paly around with it as well. Wish you all the best a many, many pips! Thumbs up from me! {image} {image} {image}
Hello, could you give me some more info please? Which broker, timeframe, pairs, you changed any sets., etc? I really appreciate it. Thanks!

harperx May 21, 2020 10:39am | Post# 567

same experienced i already faced , in demo EA worked really great , but when trading in a real account the result was not good and similar as like demo. after sometime i have realized its not a problem about EA its all about the difference between demo and live psychologies. thats all.
Yer I've experienced the same behaviour. Although demos try to replicate real behaviour there's a lot of gaps that just wont line up with your real broker. It really shows how important forwards testing is!

Giugi1805 May 25, 2020 11:47am | Post# 568

Hello, I am new to this fórum and i just read the topic, is very long, maybe i missed some parts, i was intersted because i also thought about hedging martingale.

I have questions: - what is the difference between hedging and anti-martingale.

And, did anyone thought about locking the posittion: that means instead of pyramidely increase the lot,just open a single trade with the totality of total lots but in reverse postion, the martingale new order positions Will be stopped and you wil get profit fianlly with the lock position. This can be done on máximum 30% DD because of swap etcc.

Please let me know.

Giugi1805 May 25, 2020 12:09pm | Post# 569

And also if u apply that ea opens trade only in direction of trend, you Will have much less DD. Apply indicators that study trend on H1 and ea Will open the trades on m5, thanks to stochastic forexample. Buy when stoch is oversold on m5, and sell when stoch is overbought.

KashifNawaz May 26, 2020 10:34am | Post# 570

Hi I've just found out about this topic. I bought a excell formula about martingale years back.its look the same with the one that i bought.its pretty much a simple formula. The input can be type in etc lot size, tp level, pending order and more. {image}
Thanks for your feedback; as per your screenshot, the TP for every single trade is different. So, you didn't plan to close the entire martingale cycle at once? This will cause more DD. Would you like to further explain your formula? Thanks

{quote} yeah it does work.you can change it to swing if you want it to able to withstand 600-800 pips.just need to change certain perimeter. years back i did bought the EA as well but i for some reason didn't use it that long enough.i can print screen some trade that i took last week.by the way the picture that i attached is for manual trade.
What I understood, if trader is hoping to survive 600-800 pips then he can change EA setting to swing mode. If not then he should be ready to take losses? or any other backup plan?

just found this thread, want to throw my 2 cents. i'm running martingale with hedge EA in live account, and imho this way can make success, with some prerequisites. we all know martingale is about probability, and in long term no one can beat mathematic conclusion - fail, coz no one have unlimited capital. but if you split capital into multiple accounts, run multiple pairs, adjust range and tp target for each pair, or same pair one account long only the other short only...and quite important, luck, yes, luck or a perfect ranging market can let you...
Thanks for your feedback, my friend. Yes, worked on these kinds of ideas but didn't make much difference when it comes to defend the DD. However, in the coming days, I will share EA's (latest version of GoWithFlow) with additional parameters. Let's keep fighting the market.

KashifNawaz May 26, 2020 10:45am | Post# 571

Yes possible. If you can stomach large drawdowns and use very low leverage it can work overtime.
Agree. I know a few of my friends who are constantly making money using martingale only and they believe, this is one of the sure ways to make money. They suffer losses for sure but it doesn't matter to them. On average, they win 10 months and lose 2 months.

{quote} I just wanted to say that i use your latest version of the EA on 14 different currency pairs and im really a big fan of it. Really, really appreciate the effort and time you have but into it. I will add some pictures as well. It makes good small profits every day. I hope to see the latest version bretty soon and paly around with it as well. Wish you all the best a many, many pips! Thumbs up from me! {image} {image} {image}

I hope, you are testing it on a demo account. Please be careful, EA is not recommended to be used on a real account. The latest version still in process.

{quote} Normally I would not have seen this issue. But I started the EA on Sunday night (Sidney morning), then even with my ECN broker the EURUSD spread is about 40 for an hour or so before it goes down to zero. Good that I tried it on a demo first... I also added some kind of parachute, something easy: an emergency close all if the equity should fall below a certain percentage of the balance. If you like, we can share ideas and code snippets.
The account Locking feature is already available in this EA. You just need to enter an amount where you want to stop the EA and let you manage opened trades by yourself. For details, please check excel file shared in the first post.

KashifNawaz May 26, 2020 11:01am | Post# 572

Hello, I am new to this fórum and i just read the topic, is very long, maybe i missed some parts, i was intersted because i also thought about hedging martingale. I have questions: - what is the difference between hedging and anti-martingale. And, did anyone thought about locking the posittion: that means instead of pyramidely increase the lot,just open a single trade with the totality of total lots but in reverse postion, the martingale new order positions Will be stopped and you wil get profit fianlly with the lock position. This can be done on...
Thanks friend for your comments. This feature already exists in this EA; please read excel file. Locking or hedging will not remove your worry about DD. Regarding your question, a hedge is a reverse trade against any specific order, but anti-martingale means, we use a multiplier for winning trades instead of losing ones. I hope you got the answer.

And also if u apply that ea opens trade only in direction of trend, you Will have much less DD. Apply indicators that study trend on H1 and ea Will open the trades on m5, thanks to stochastic for example. Buy when stoch is oversold on m5, and sell when stoch is overbought.
Yes agree, few indicators can be added as a filter to avoid anti-trend trades but this EA is designed for martingale and anti 24x5. You are most welcome to make any modifications.

ursinho4711 May 26, 2020 12:23pm | Post# 573

The latest version still in process.
Thanks for all the answers above. The account locking I found while I was analyzing the code.
If you need any help (helping hand) with the coding, just let me know.

Have a sunny and healthy time!

Giugi1805 May 26, 2020 1:27pm | Post# 574

Where can I find the ea that uses the lock strategy? And with which set file?

And sorry another thing, which is the actual ea are u guys using and which set file. I saw version 2.06 i think but can’t attach the setfile, cause is .txt. Thank you very much

Robertstarc May 29, 2020 11:17am | Post# 575

If anyone wants to enter into the forex market, he should gather knowledge about the trading and the market. Without getting full knowledge about the market, it is quite tough to trade and invest in forex.

NagaGendut Jul 3, 2020 6:47pm | Post# 576

Dear All Traders,

I know EA GWF since 2018 and I have used EA GWF for trading in real acc since Dec 2019. I really like with the "Hedging Concept" of GWF that can save us from MC. Recently, my strategy with EA GWF forced me not to trade 24 hours..so I need to use "Time Filter". But I found that when the broker time already enter the "End Time", EA GWF will just stop making new OP (just wait until the chart hit TP), although there is still OP or there are still set of martingale OPs. I think this is not good for martingale strategy. I think it will be better if when the broker time already enter the "End Time", EA GWF still continue the set of martingale OPs left until the chart back and hit TP, and then it stop.

I wonder if there is trader in this forum can help me to realize my idea, really appreciate it (because I can't do coding ). Thank you in advance

fx4money Jul 4, 2020 2:11am | Post# 577

Dear All Traders, I know EA GWF since 2018 and I have used EA GWF for trading in real acc since Dec 2019. I really like with the "Hedging Concept" of GWF that can save us from MC. Recently, my strategy with EA GWF forced me not to trade 24 hours..so I need to use "Time Filter". But I found that when the broker time already enter the "End Time", EA GWF will just stop making new OP (just wait until the chart hit TP), although there is still OP or there are still set of martingale OPs. I think this is not good for martingale strategy. I think it will...
best to set ea to trade between 1st hour to 22nd hour only, because normally suspicuous move happened at 23rd hours (this is when spread enlarged, possibly to catch traders sl or margin)

NagaGendut Jul 5, 2020 5:19am | Post# 578

{quote} best to set ea to trade between 1st hour to 22nd hour only, because normally suspicuous move happened at 23rd hours (this is when spread enlarged, possibly to catch traders sl or margin)
I have done backtest for EU and secure time for me to trade between 1st hour to 14th hour broker time (FBS) when EU still sideways. But from that backtest result, I can see that if the time already enter the "End Time" and there are still set of martingale OPs left by the trending chart, it will become a threat for our trade. It will be better if after the time enter the "End Time", EA GWF can still keep creating new OP to finish all set of martingales before it finally stop after condition clear (no outstanding OP).

lengendff Jul 7, 2020 11:21pm | Post# 579

KashifNawaz, thanks for the ea and wonderful explanation.

Just 1 thing I don't understand. What does this mean: "Locked position will be closed manually"

"Once floating loss will cross set level , Engine 2 will open a trade which will equalize entire Buy and Sell trades and EA will stop taking further trades until all transactions closed manually. For example maximum set floating is 2500 $, total Sell lots are 26.2 and Buy lots are 21.6. Once floating loss will cross -2500 $, at next grid level Engine 1 will not place regualr martingale trade rather Engine 2 will place hedge trade of Buy 4.6 lots [26.2 -21.6]. Locked position will be closed manually. "

starzero Jul 7, 2020 11:54pm | Post# 580

hello, thanks for sharing great EA, im a big fans of this strategy and love the combination of martingale with hedging strategy, i believe with a good math or calculation we could kill the market and produce good milks lol, i've been doing backtest and forward test on demo account, id like to give it a shot on real account, however theres some minor problem, during forward test im using two kinds of account which is ECN & Cent Account, the problem is with Cent Account, it doenst Open or Close Position as ECN Account did, as for example im using the same input setting on both account 0.01 lot size, 15 grid, 1.5 multiplier, on ECN Account it Open each Position starting from 0.01 lot size, then 0.02, 0.03, 0.04 and so on, however on Cent Account it Open 0.01, 0.01, 0.01 then 0.02, 0.02, 0.02, each lot size it open three position, is there anything i've to change on mq4 files ? thanks in advance for the help


© Forex Factory