Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum.php)
-   Trading Discussion (https://www.forexfactory.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   What do people think of this indicator? (https://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=728225)

truelifeajf Jan 6, 2018 7:45pm | Post# 1

What do people think of this indicator?

2 Attachment(s)
Hi all,

I rarely use forums, I've traded for a number of years and experienced the usual ups and downs.

I'm a coder, I've spent years on my own crazy complex indicator - basically hundreds of calculations that boil down to a single line indicator. If it goes up, buy, if it goes down, sell.

For the most part, it's served me well. The losses always come from bad money management, over-confidence, etc. This confirms for me that no indicator can make you rich as it's how you trade with that indicator that makes or breaks a trader.

However, I'm confident in the work I've done but I'd like to see how other traders might use the indicator. I think there may be some insight from forum members that will result in:

1. me using my own indicator better
  2. me helping other traders do the same

At this stage, I'm only providing CSV file output for 3 months of indicator data, not an MQL or EX4 file. There are two reasons for this:

1. my indicator relies on data that's pre-processed outside of MT4, data from various web sources, etc... it's complex and it's not "packaged" for easy distribution
  2. I'd like to see if anyone is interested in providing an unbiased / raw interpretation of the indicator. i.e.; without knowing how it's calculated. What correlations do you see? How do you think the indicator could be used?

The attached CSV files are based on the 1HR timeframe. So the data is simple timestamp + "," + number:

2017.12.28 09:00:00,26.62787319583332
2017.12.28 10:00:00,26.62787319583332
2017.12.28 11:00:00,27.65908473429486
2017.12.28 12:00:00,27.65908473429486