Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/)
-   Trading Systems (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum/71-trading-systems)
-   -   The Tlatomi Experience (https://www.forexfactory.com/thread/7091-the-tlatomi-experience)

Dan7974 Aug 16, 2006 5:06am | Post# 21

You can see were I sold today but the market didn't move much. I put in to take a 20 pip profit and had to leave the house for 2 hours. When I got back I had missed my exit by 3 pips. The market went flat so I didn't take any mote signals.

I like watching the 14 ATR. If it drops below 12 on the GBP I know that volatility is dropping and it is better not to trade. The market is going flat. Go catch up on your reading, or mow the lawn.

http://pianopeople.net/images/Tlatomi3.jpg

Where do You put Your Stop-Loss? Thanks in advance!
Dan.

brainjt Aug 16, 2006 6:03am | Post# 22

Hi
 
yes its the same,
SL maybe previous higher or lower
bj

tortoise Aug 16, 2006 10:21am | Post# 23

are you all using the default setting for FX Sniper and Shi_silvertrend ?
You are suppose to change the FX Sniper to:

pq=4
pr=8
ps=5
trigger=4

tortoise Aug 16, 2006 10:38am | Post# 24

Stop Loss
Where do You put Your Stop-Loss? Thanks in advance!
Dan.
Good question, Dan. The answer is yes, maybe, I don't know.

I have been testing the Tlatomi for a week now. I won't give you a pat answer that I have gotten out of the 100's of books I read or what I have seen on the Tlatomi forum already. 2:1 or 3:1. You have to test this system.

I haven't played with MT4 enough yet to know how to stop it from doing this. I want to look at trades in the past data on the chart but when ever I scroll back as soon as new data comes in, the chart jumps to the beginning (end?) again. I was able to do historical testing over last weekend when the market was closed. The chart doesn't move then. Maybe there is a setting I can find to do some testing during the week. I'll look.

In the mean time, my first idea is a cross in the MA in the other direction. Be careful with this because if the market goes flat briefly you can get a false cross. I don't like an arbitrary number like 30 pips. I like the market to tell me where to put the stop. If you are uncomfortable with the stop the market gives you then pass up the trade or wait to see if there is a place to get in at a smaller risk.

For instance if I come to the conclusion that a good stop for this system is a close above the high I am selling or low I am buying then wait to see if the market goes against the system's signal a little and then get in. Your risk will be lower.

Stops are important and I have to do more research to tell where to put them. Check back.

judex001 Aug 16, 2006 10:39am | Post# 25

Hi,

Sorry, i didn't have time to post my trades yesterday.

On M30 :

Buy 0.20 Lots GBPUSD @ 1.8941 - T/P 1.8951 = +10 PIPS
Buy 0.20 Lots EURUSD @ 1.2789 - T/P 1.2799 = +10 PIPS
Sell 0.20 Lots AUDUSD @ 0.7647 - T/P 0.7637 = +10 PIPS

On H4 :

Buy 0.20 Lots GBPUSD @ 1.8970 - T/P 1.9050 - S/L 1.8851 = 0.2 lots @ +20 PIPS
Sell 0.20 Lots USDCHF @ 1.2349 - T/P 1.2240 - S/L 1.2442 = 0.2 lots @ +60 PIPS
Buy 0.20 Lots EURUSD @ 1.2795 - Τ/P 1.2862 - S/L 1.2709 = 0.2 lots @ +67 PIPS
Sell 0.20 Lots USDJPY @ 115.87 - T/P 115.20 - S/L 116.61 = 0.2 lot @ 0 PIPS
Buy 0.20 Lots AUDUSD @ 0.7654 - T/P 0.7685 - S/L 0.7617 = 0.1 lot @ +31 PIPS ans 0.1 lot @ +37 PIPS
Sell 0.20 Lots GBP/JPY @ 220.00 - T/P 219.29 - S/L 220.56 = 0.1 lot @ +71 PIPS and 0.1 lot @ +50 PIPS


I post the chart for the only trade in 4H closed : GBP/JPY

http://www.tlatomi.com/blog/images/ff/GBPJPY1.gif

Hollis Aug 16, 2006 10:43am | Post# 26

1 Attachment(s)
I haven't played with MT4 enough yet to know how to stop it from doing this. I want to look at trades in the past data on the chart but when ever I scroll back as soon as new data comes in, the chart jumps to the beginning (end?) again. I was able to do historical testing over last weekend when the market was closed. The chart doesn't move then. Maybe there is a setting I can find to do some testing during the week. I'll look.
There's a button on the menu bar that you can toggle on and off that will turn chart auto-scroll on and off so you can keep it from scrolling when a new tick comes in.
Name:  bar.PNG
Views: 4040
Size:  4 KB

tortoise Aug 16, 2006 10:45am | Post# 27

ADX Cross?
 
On this charts we can see that cross 5EMA-9SMA is later like ADX, it can also help us on 30min, its necessary test it,
I am confused which lines you are looking at on your ADX that are crossing before the MA. I feel the MA cross pretty quick. Sometimes in 2 or 3 bars. You don't want to jump the gun on a trade because the dot will keep repainting. I have only seen the dot repaint once after the MA cross, so far.

tortoise Aug 16, 2006 10:48am | Post# 28

There's a button on the menu bar that you can toggle on and off that will turn chart auto-scroll on and off so you can keep it from scrolling when a new tick comes in.
Thanks. I think. [img]images/icons/icon9.gif[/img] Now I have to work all day researching. Just kidding.

brainjt Aug 16, 2006 11:41am | Post# 29

Hi Judex
 
1 Attachment(s)
I have different picutre on GBP JPN
have you 5 EMA and 9SMA- smoothed MA
also different signal red- can you again describe you indicators and
their levels?- can you help me bj
Name:  gbpjpn.gif
Views: 4051
Size:  17 KB

brainjt Aug 16, 2006 11:50am | Post# 30

I have different picutre on GBP JPN
have you 5 EMA and 9SMA- smoothed MA
also different signal red- can you again describe you indicators and
their levels?- can you help me bj
can you send me please parameters your 59 MA crossovers
thx bj

judex001 Aug 16, 2006 12:06pm | Post# 31

can you send me parameters your 59 MA crossovers
thx bj
Hi,

My parameters are :

5 -EMA -Close price -color blue
9 -SMA -Close price - color orange

Ma crossover
FasterMode : 1
FasterMa : 5
SlowerMode : 0
SlowerMa : 9

ShiSilverTrend
Allbars : 0
Otstup : 30
Per : 9.0

Hope this help you !

judex001 Aug 16, 2006 12:40pm | Post# 32

Hi,

I close all my trades now because i didn't pay my phone bill this month and the phone company will cut my line today until tomorrow.

Total for yesterday and today : 543 PIPS (Tiga-Tlatomi trades only).

JudeX.

tortoise Aug 16, 2006 12:51pm | Post# 33

Money management
 
Hi,

Sorry, i didn't have time to post my trades yesterday.

On M30 :

Buy 0.20 Lots GBPUSD @ 1.8941 - T/P 1.8951 = +10 PIPS
Buy 0.20 Lots EURUSD @ 1.2789 - T/P 1.2799 = +10 PIPS
Sell 0.20 Lots AUDUSD @ 0.7647 - T/P 0.7637 = +10 PIPS

On H4 :

Buy 0.20 Lots GBPUSD @ 1.8970 - T/P 1.9050 - S/L 1.8851 = N/A
Sell 0.20 Lots USDCHF @ 1.2349 - T/P 1.2240 - S/L 1.2442 = N/A
Buy 0.20 Lots EURUSD @ 1.2795 - Τ/P 1.2862 - S/L 1.2709 = N/A
Sell 0.20 Lots USDJPY @ 115.87 - T/P 115.20 - S/L 116.61 = 0.2 lot @ 0 PIPS
Buy 0.20 Lots AUDUSD @ 0.7654 - T/P 0.7685 - S/L 0.7617 = 0.1 lot @ +31 PIPS
Sell 0.20 Lots GBP/JPY @ 220.00 - T/P 219.29 - S/L 220.56 = 0.1 lot @ +71 PIPS and 0.1 lot @ +50 PIPS
Hi,

Glad to see you again. I haven't notice many post on the other forum. Since you are the expert of Tlatomi I have a question for you.

I notice that almost always when you get a signal in GBP there is also signals in EUR, CHF, JPY etc. This is mainly because all of these currencies are paired up with USD. There is a very strong correlation between these pairs so it makes sense that a signal in one will give a signal in the other.

I was paper trading the M30 in 4 pairs. They almost all worked the same. The GBP and JPY are a little more volatile than the CHF and EUR.

So here is my question: You put 0.2 lots on each trade. Why not go with just GBP or EUR and put 0.8 lots on one? I would say the GBP is the better choice.

Here is my observation for over 1 1/2 years of watching the Forex. The GBP, EUR and CHF have very strong correlation. The JPY and CAD sometimes can correlate but they also can go off on their own.

There is no testing here yet but my guess would be if you are trading a M30 to trade GBP in Europe session and USA session, 2:00 to 16:00 EST. Markets can go dead from 16:00 to 19:00 until the Asian market opens. So I would trade JPY in the evening. Just watch out for JPY reports. It can move JPY. Very few Europe reports move GBP. Only a handful UK reports move GBP which are usually at 4:30 EST.

The GBP/JPY is it's own pair so that could be traded separately. Have you notice signals the same time with GBP/JPY and GBP/USD?

One last questions. What is your spread on GBP/JPY? I see 10 pips with my broker but today I saw 6.5. High spreads may make a difference with using a M30 time frame to trade.

brainjt Aug 16, 2006 12:51pm | Post# 34

Hi
 
thx for your quick answer, SMA is simple, yes?
bj

tortoise Aug 16, 2006 12:54pm | Post# 35

thx for your quick answer, SMA is simple, yes?
bj
No, 5 is exponential. 9 is simple

judex001 Aug 16, 2006 12:54pm | Post# 36

thx for your quick answer, SMA is simple, yes?
bj
That's right.
SMA = Simple moving average
EMA : Exponential moving average

JudeX.

brainjt Aug 16, 2006 12:59pm | Post# 37

thx!!!!

Dan7974 Aug 16, 2006 1:40pm | Post# 38

Is this right?
 
Where do You put Your Stop-Loss? Thanks in advance!
Dan.
Is this right?

1) Blue Dot appears.
2) 5 EMA corsses the 9 SMA upward.
3) FX Sniper is in a buy sinal. ( Under - 200 % ) Could You trade if the FX Sniper is not under - 200 % ?
4) Take Profit when 5 EMA crosses the 9 SMA downward.

Is it true that You have to refresh Your Charts every 30 min. So You would see if a blue/red dot appears?

And is it true that those dots can move in other places, like if there is a high, and there is a blue dot on that high, and then, a higher high formed. Will the blue dot from the previous high move to the new higher high?

Thanks.
Dan.

judex001 Aug 16, 2006 3:14pm | Post# 39

Hi tortoise,

Hi,

Glad to see you again. I haven't notice many post on the other forum. Since you are the expert of Tlatomi I have a question for you.

I notice that almost always when you get a signal in GBP there is also signals in EUR, CHF, JPY etc. This is mainly because all of these currencies are paired up with USD. There is a very strong correlation between these pairs so it makes sense that a signal in one will give a signal in the other.

That's right but the best entry in each pairs doesn't have to be at the same time. Sometimes it will be one or two bar later.

I was paper trading the M30 in 4 pairs. They almost all worked the same. The GBP and JPY are a little more volatile than the CHF and EUR.

So here is my question: You put 0.2 lots on each trade. Why not go with just GBP or EUR and put 0.8 lots on one? I would say the GBP is the better choice.

In general, with the tlatomi method, I only trade the GBP/USD and GBP/JPY but after testing in demo the tiga-tlatomi method, i'm now trading live with this method on the maximun of currency i can for testing - that's why you see only 0.2 lot on each pairs. After i decide which pairs works better with my time zone, i will only trade one or two pairs with 1 lot. Anyway, I think i'm gonna stay with the cable and the GBP/JPY.

Here is my observation for over 1 1/2 years of watching the Forex. The GBP, EUR and CHF have very strong correlation. The JPY and CAD sometimes can correlate but they also can go off on their own.

There is no testing here yet but my guess would be if you are trading a M30 to trade GBP in Europe session and USA session, 2:00 to 16:00 EST. Markets can go dead from 16:00 to 19:00 until the Asian market opens. So I would trade JPY in the evening. Just watch out for JPY reports. It can move JPY. Very few Europe reports move GBP. Only a handful UK reports move GBP which are usually at 4:30 EST.

The GBP/JPY is it's own pair so that could be traded separately. Have you notice signals the same time with GBP/JPY and GBP/USD?

No, sometimes the signal on the cable happens earlier and sometimes later (8 hours to 12 hours).

One last questions. What is your spread on GBP/JPY? I see 10 pips with my broker but today I saw 6.5. High spreads may make a difference with using a M30 time frame to trade.

With my broker, FxSol, the spread is 10 pips and i never have any slippage.
I never trade the GBP/JPY on 30 MN Too risky for me !!



judex001 Aug 16, 2006 3:24pm | Post# 40

Hi Dan,

Is this right?

1) Blue Dot appears.
2) 5 EMA corsses the 9 SMA upward.
3) FX Sniper is in a buy sinal. ( Under - 200 % ) Could You trade if the FX Sniper is not under - 200 % ?

Definitly yes, Fx sniper under - 200 gives you a stronger signal but you can also trade when it's between 200 and -200.

4) Take Profit when 5 EMA crosses the 9 SMA downward.

Mmmm, it's a possibility like many others.
1) MA cross
2) New contrary dot
3) PA
4) Pivots points
5) Fibonacci
etc...


Is it true that You have to refresh Your Charts every 30 min. So You would see if a blue/red dot appears?

On my charts, the dot appears without refreshing, i only refresh the charts before entering a trade to be sure that all the signals are in place.

And is it true that those dots can move in other places, like if there is a high, and there is a blue dot on that high, and then, a higher high formed. Will the blue dot from the previous high move to the new higher high?

That's true, ShiSilverTrend repaints himself - that's why you have to wait for all the signals.

Thanks.
Dan.


© Forex Factory