Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum.php)
-   Trading Discussion (https://www.forexfactory.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   5 years and still no strategy (https://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=656830)

freakout Apr 14, 2017 12:02pm | Post# 1

5 years and still no strategy

So... I have 5 years of experience, I know price action, I know how to trade with trend, I know how to manage risk, etc., but I still don't have a strategy. Is this normal or it's a waste of time? I'm not looking for a holy grail, but for something really simple with 50% accuracy at 1:2 ratio. 3-5 trades per day during EU session and that's all. I tried to trade H1-H4 pullbacks, pivots, breakouts and many other strategies but without any success...

Should I continue my searches or it's time to leave it?

KeenPips Apr 14, 2017 12:49pm | Post# 2

You have a series of strategies already but you have not developed/identified the rules, conditions and style that make them work. There are many ways to trade and be successful but it takes painstaking effort, study, practice and discipline to make a strategy work. Stop looking for the 'Holy Grail.' It's all about you.

Trade safe and prosper.

KP

CrucialPoint Apr 14, 2017 1:03pm | Post# 3

1 Attachment(s)
Straight up with no chasers
Name:  straight.jpg
Views: 35652
Size:  23 KB
I have 5 years of experience
Experience (knowledge) are not counted in years.
Driving your car for 30years is not going to make you a professional formula1 driver.
5, 10, 15 years (or more) trading doesn't equate to profitability or professionalism.

I know price action, I know how to trade with trend, I know how to manage risk, etc.
People should pause whenever they say "I know..." and then look at the result of their actions if it matches what they know.
If you're not making any money.. you should rethink what you think you know.
Knowing and Doing are two different things; Everyone knows to eat their vegies, but they ate the cake instead.