Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum.php)
-   Platform Tech (https://www.forexfactory.com/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   Dashboard EAX (https://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=568595)

aeseme Dec 2, 2015 10:04am | Post# 1

Dashboard EAX
 
8 Attachment(s)
If you are looking for an automagic pips maker, you better continue looking
________________________________________

This thread is to allow me to have a better follow up of the development of a dashboard idea I'm working on and anything related to it...
Before you ask, EAX comes from Expert Advisor eXtended/eXperimental/eXtreme...
________________________________________

I want to make some remarks, mainly, thanks to Gvc for his amazing work and contribution in his Dashboard Trading thread, where I found the main inspiration to start my own project. I want to also thank all the people contributing there because this one started by following some ideas of dashboards already there, that I mixed with other ideas that I already had, and lately, with some additional ideas proposed by users. Like I already stated in some posts there, I don't want to reinvent the wheel, I only realized that I would like some features/ideas together that I didn't found yet, and I decided to try to merge them.

This started as a personal project, and based on my own needs, trying to cover features I was missing in other dashboards around, or already covered but with some limitations I would like not to have, and at some point I ended up deciding to share it in order to try to give back in some way something.

My own thinking of this thread is like a complement of Dashboard Trading, so both can benefit from each other.

This is a work in progress and it is still in development. It can be freely tested in Demo, because it is the way to go to try to find good settings to be used in Live/Real, keeping in mind that Demo and Real are not always on the same page. With that said, if you go Live/Real, you do so at your own risk.

Cheers!

________________________________________

Brief list of instructions to have everything ready to go (work in progress...):


The dashboard works with a default set of 28 pairs:
Inserted Code
AUDCAD AUDCHF AUDJPY AUDNZD AUDUSD CADCHF CADJPY
CHFJPY EURAUD EURCAD EURCHF EURGBP EURJPY EURNZD
EURUSD GBPAUD GBPCAD GBPCHF GBPJPY GBPNZD GBPUSD
NZDCAD NZDCHF NZDJPY NZDUSD USDCAD USDCHF USDJPY
All these pairs should be enabled in your MT4's market watch and history of all of them must be available.

If you don't need any other pair in your current MT4 setup, in the market watch sub-window enable only these 28 plus the one you'll be using to attach the dashboard and hide/disable any other. This will save you bandwidth (and probably some headache).

Make sure that your broker supports all these pairs. If it doesn't, a workaround could be to add your own list of pairs, by removing from the list the ones not supported and adding the other ones to the customized pairs list in the EA properties ("Use the default 28 pairs" option must be set to false as well).

Extract files to their corresponding folders.

Open any chart you like (better if it's not any of the 28 ones) and attach the Dashboard to it (make sure that you have "Allow DLL imports" enabled in the "Common" tab of the EA properties, required to grab news). The chart should be auto-cleared, but if you have issues you can load one of the '#EmptyOne*' templates includes beforehand.

About triggers (briefly):

  1. CSM = Currency Strength Meter = Strength of Currencies using XARD spreadsheet calculations.
  2. BidR% = BidRatio % = Simple D1 strength of individual symbols in (0-100)% using XARD spreadsheet calculations.
    Have a look at the XARD nor Speedometer spreadsheets at MT4 Trading the GAP With Excel thread (or in this one using the paperclip).
  3. RS = (Bid)Ratio Strength = BidRatio % translated into -9/+9 (to be improved or removed/replaced).
  4. BQR = Base|Quote Ratio = Difference of strength between Base and Quote currencies of pairs according to CSM/RT.
  5. GAP = Is the BQR difference of the last half-hour. GA# = GAP consecutive Alerts counter.
  6. BQ = Base|Quote direction = Difference of strength between Base and Quote currencies of pairs according to CSM/TF expressed in direction.
  7. Strength% = Strength of individual symbols in (-100/+100)% emulating the ForexProfitSupreme Meter indicator calculations.


About PINS:

PIN comes from Plug-IN, and it is intended to read/import/collect data exported by external agents. These agents can be any indicator(s) or expert(s) running in the same or other chart window (in the very same MT4 terminal setup) and exporting their own data or signals.

By the time I have two PINS available: BidRatio MTF dash, and another one that collect alerts produced by an indicator whose name is MADdash.

To use the MADdash PIN, follow the instructions given in DBMASMEAXPIN_MADdash.txt.
Want to use MADdash in a multiple PIN setup?: Trading with 2 PIN MADdash.pdf by jamesT.
To know more about MADdash go to it own tread :► MADdash (Moving Average Distance) by honestknave

To use the BidRatio PIN, follow the instructions given in DBMASMEAXPIN_BRdash.txt.

I am open to suggestions on this, so if you have an indicator/expert with source code (and good arguments) that you want to be a PIN on this dashboard, I can try to make a PIN of it to see if it worth.

I am also looking for input on tested and proven ideas to create PINS for.

Making a PIN (in a nutshell):

PINS are by now global variables (GV) whose name indicates the pair name and the PIN belonging and their value indicates it direction/action.
PINS GV names are formed by the pair name as prefix, the string "pin", and the PIN ID as suffix, ie, a GV named EURUSDpin1 is PIN1 for EURUSD

PIN values can be (by now) one of:

  1. 0 = None
  2. 1 = Long
  3. 2 = Short

Thus, reading PINS is just like reading these GVs, setting PINS is just like setting them, and clearing PINS is just like deleting them.
PINS GVs must be cleared once a PIN has been unloaded or changed it ID in order to avoid leaving traces behind. (#Post 4,659)

________________________________________

Troubleshooting:

  1. Make sure that you are using the latest update, ancient ones are not eligible for support.
  2. If you get a divide by zero or array out of range error, it probably means that you do not have enough history. To try to sort this out, two scripts to force the load of the historical data are included in the MQL4/Scripts folder (if these doesn't work as expected, there are many more around in the forum, like the one in # Post 373 - included since DBMultiASMdevX006e3).
    You may also need to open all the 28 charts of each pair (using the EA buttons for that purpose) to ensure that in fact, history has been loaded. H1 could be a good time-frame to start, and you an walk through MN1.
    If you have an MT4 setup that is already working, you can try to copy its historical data to the new one. Same broker required AFAIK.
    Another approach is to go with a setup that needs less historical data, by disabling Candles, PSAR, the higher time-frames of Pairs HeatMaps, the Currencies HeatMaps, PTZ, FTZ, and anything else that might use higher time-frames.
    This is a one time procedure, so don't worry too much about it.
  3. If you get a cannot open file error, it is probably related to files not correctly extracted to their respective folders/sub-folders.
  4. If you get a "Cannot call 'stdlib.ex4::ErrorDescription', 'stdlib.ex4' is not loaded", make sure you have ' stdlib.ex4' in your 'MQL4\Libraries\' folder. It is usually deployed with the MT terminal.
  5. Screen resolution issues due to font size nor 4K displays: try this workaround by jagzuk.
  6. Font size bigger than it should on standard screen resolution: make sure you installed the fonts included in the bundle package.
  7. Invalid stops for SL. Make sure SL is a negative number (read ChangeLog for further details).

Need help?:
If you ever want to get help, here's the minimum required input to try to get it:

  1. Picture(s) showing the most possible (and faithful) details of your current setup.
  2. MT4 Terminal [Experts] nor [Journal] tabs content (nor MT4 log) showing entries related to the reported issue.
  3. If necessary, any set file required to be able to reproduce the reported issue locally.
  4. If necessary, MT4 Terminal [Account History] tab log with comments enabled.
  5. If necessary, MT4 Terminal [Trade] tab log with comments enabled.
  6. Any other details you consider may be helpful would be valuable as well.
  7. Please provide consistent reports if you want consistent answers.
  8. Help me(us) help you and do your best to make meaningful questions.

There are 2 logs folders, one for the platform (journal) and another one for experts... both with several days of backup...

  1. Experts*: {DATA_PATH}\MQL4\Logs\ (or right click in any [Experts] tab entry and then select "Open")
  2. Platform: {DATA_PATH}\logs\ (or right click in any [Journal] tab entry and then select "Open")

________________________________________

Tips:

If you want to preserve your most important settings and make them survive across updates, or make some presets for any specific needs, this would be as simple as:

  1. Go to EA properties, save a Preset with your current settings.
  2. Open Presets folder and locate the just saved one and make a backup of it (just in case you need it later).
  3. Open it with you preferred text editor and remove anything that looks not important to you.
  4. When you're done, save that file. It will only contain the settings you really want to preserve.


Done. Now, next time you make an update/upgrade, or need that specific custom settings, just import that preset. that's it.

It will obey the values in you left in your Preset file and use defaults for any other item.


The above procedure is valid to any option you want to make persistent on any new (re)install/update/upgrade/etc...

Newest stuff to the bottom of this post... (after deprecated stuff)

________________________________________

________________________________________

Ancient (deprecated) stuff, here for historical record only:
Here's how it looks like right now (default color scheme)... with some filters/triggers enabled and showing alerts.
Click to Enlarge

Name: Image4.png
Size: 579 KB
Some examples of hidden but not disabled modules, showing some alerts (trigger on BidRatio, previous candle and MA) was enabled on this test picture). Hidden items with triggers enabled will show their alerts. Most items can be hidden AND disabled as well in order to save CPU.Almost all surrounding items can be relocated based on X/Y coordinates.
---
Looking back for a bit, mostly because of change-logs and already written instructions:

  1. Introduction: Dashboard Trading #Post 11,932
  2. 1st upload: Dashboard Trading #Post 12,073
  3. 1st update: Dashboard Trading #Post 12,230
  4. 2nd update: Dashboard Trading #Post 12,365
  5. 3rd update: Dashboard Trading #Post 12,487
  6. 4th update: Dashboard Trading #Post 12,661
  7. 5th update: Dashboard Trading #Post 13,034
  8. 6th update: It is just like the 5th update, but all required together in one package (bundle).If you are using any update package, in order to have all the features enabled you will need the bundle as well.
    DBMultiASM(10230)devX201511272338b.deploy.zip 1.6 MB | 1,083 download | Uploaded Dec 3, 2015 15:21
  9. 7th update: EA only. Read the ChangeLog file included. devX006a fixes a bug introduced in devX006, related to stop auto-trading after reaching amount of baskets set in preferences.
    DBMultiASMdevX006a.update.zip 1,020 KB | 651 downloads | Uploaded Dec 16, 2015 10:18
  10. 8th update: EA and new MADdash PIN version. Read the ChangeLog file included.devX006b aims to be much better in resources usage and this is the main reason of this update. It has some new features but nothing really relevant, most updates are related to improvements and/or fixes.
    DBMultiASMdevX006b.update.zip 1.1 MB | 933 downloads | Uploaded Dec 21, 2015 20:46
  11. 9th update: EA, MADdash-1.30 and updated MADdashPIN template: Read the ChangeLog file included. devX006d is mostly a bug fix revision with some experimental additions.
    DBMultiASMdevX006d.update.zip 1.3 MB | 803 downloads | Uploaded Jan 8, 2016 2:10

Current revision bundle: all required together in one package (pay attention to included text files).

DBMultiASMdevX006d1.deploy.zip 1.9 MB | 2,423 downloads | Uploaded Jan 11, 2016 16:43


Latest update: (a fresh install requires the current revision bundle installed beforehand).
Most relevant since previous update:

!! Fixed the issue reported here.

+ Experimental filter based on previous[p] candle bar direction.

+ One column/arrow Base|Quote [BQ] opposite direction trigger (experimental). Might replace the prior one based on two columns/arrows (base and quote arrows). Both are intended to have the same behavior and can be hidden, only differ by their cosmetic design (the new one is space-saving).

DBMultiASMdevX006f2.update.zip 1.3 MB | 1,476 download | Uploaded Feb 15, 2016 22:05


Experimental DBMultiASMdevX006g (pay attention to included text files):

► DBMultiASMdevX006g.bundle.zip 2.4 MB | 3,939 downloads | Uploaded Mar 9, 2016 17:38

► DBMultiASMdevX006g3.update.zip 2.0 MB | 7,679 downloads | Uploaded Jul 21, 2016 17:51


Experimental DBMASMEAX007a (pay attention to included text files):

► DBMASMEAX007a3.bundle.zip 2.8 MB | 1,399 download | Uploaded Sep 1, 2016 21:33

► DBMASMEAX007a3.update5.zip 2.0 MB | 923 downloads | Uploaded Sep 23, 2016 11:25

DBMASMEAX007a3.bundle3.zip


Older releases aren't eligible for support.

Click to Enlarge

Name: Image1.png
Size: 219 KB
________________________________________

________________________________________

Newest stuff:
Click to Enlarge

Name: Image2.png
Size: 346 KB

Pay attention to any text file included in packages since if so, will provide additional and relevant details.

________________________________________

Prerequisites of a fresh setup (fonts, script to load historical data, empty template)
Prerequisites of a fresh setup.zip
________________________________________

Latest EAX update (on a fresh setup install prerequisites first)
Inserted Code
DBMASMEAX007a3.bundle3 rev.update.013.4 (20190714) …expires on 2020.12.31 23:59:59 GMT.
DBMASMEAX007a3.update013.4.zip
________________________________________

MADdash and BRdash PINS:
Inserted Code
DBMASMEAXPIN_BRdash v004d (20190219) …expires on 2020.12.31 23:59:59 GMT.
DBMASMEAXPIN_MADdash v003b (20190219) …does not expire.
 
~ Most relevant update is PIN ID (1 to 255, 0=disabled)
BRdash+MADdash PINS.zip
________________________________________

________________________________________

Tools spread around (if not latest, you can easily find latest by following the paper clip at top of the each thread page)

  1. Jagzuk's PINS: JagzFX Free Trading Tools thread.
  2. Ragusa's PIN_MovingAverage current cross_28 pairs_v2.
  3. Hotpotato's latest PINS and related (without BDM stuff in it)
    and EAX_Rangesv1.00 (EAX_DWMRanges & EAX_APRanges mixed)
  4. FxMadness's cDash2EAX 2019 (csDash required).
  5. honestknave's csDash (currency strength meter)
    and MADdash (Moving Average Distance).

________________________________________

Searching and Finding:Click to Enlarge

Name: Image5.png
Size: 7 KB
________________________________________

Content of 2nd post added to this (and cleanup requested), thus
Ignore next #Post 2 for the time being ...


aeseme Dec 2, 2015 10:04am | Post# 2

3 Attachment(s)
Current revision of bundle attached. It is just like the 5th update, but all required together in one package.

Looking back for a bit, mostly because of change-logs:

  1. Introduction: Dashboard Trading #Post 11,932
  2. 1st upload: Dashboard Trading #Post 12,073
  3. 1st update: Dashboard Trading #Post 12,230
  4. 2nd update: Dashboard Trading #Post 12,365
  5. 3rd update: Dashboard Trading #Post 12,487
  6. 4th update: Dashboard Trading #Post 12,661
  7. 5th update: Dashboard Trading #Post 13,034

Here's how it looks like right now (default color scheme)... almost all visible...
Attachment 1804822

Minimalist with almost all hidden but not disabled, showing some alerts (trigger on BidRatio was enabled for this test picture). Hidden items with triggers enabled will show their alerts. Most items can be hidden AND disabled as well in order to save CPU.
Attachment 1804824
Almost all surrounding items can be relocated based on X/Y coordinates. I didn't (on the latter picture) just because of laziness.
DBMultiASM(10230)devX201511272338b.deploy.zip


bazze Dec 2, 2015 10:15am | Post# 3

Good luck with your "New home", aeseme...Will follow...

project13et Dec 2, 2015 10:18am | Post# 4

Congratulation for the great dashboard, and most of all thanks for listening to the forum community and adjust it to our needs. This made this tool from good to incredible.

Gvc Dec 2, 2015 11:43am | Post# 5

Congratulations on your new thread Aeseme........

canaleandrea Dec 2, 2015 12:06pm | Post# 6

great work in the new dashboard


rabbit68 Dec 2, 2015 1:27pm | Post# 7

Amen!

alexforex541 Dec 2, 2015 4:55pm | Post# 8

Good job and thank you for your hard work.....
Will follow


Alex

dtlase Dec 2, 2015 6:05pm | Post# 9

Good job aeseme.

project13et Dec 3, 2015 2:35am | Post# 10

@aeseme can you please include a Show Alert button in one of the next versions ?

Thanks

seatrader888 Dec 3, 2015 2:43am | Post# 11

thank you again, aeseme...


aeseme Dec 3, 2015 2:46am | Post# 12

Good luck with your "New home", aeseme...Will follow...
Congratulation for the great dashboard, and most of all thanks for listening to the forum community and adjust it to our needs. This made this tool from good to incredible.
Congratulations on your new thread Aeseme........
great work in the new dashboard
Amen!
Good job and thank you for your hard work..... Will follow Alex
Good job aeseme.
thank you again, aeseme...
Thank you

aeseme Dec 3, 2015 2:49am | Post# 13

@aeseme can you please include a Show Alert button in one of the next versions ? Thanks
You mean to show popup alerts when orders take place?

project13et Dec 3, 2015 2:55am | Post# 14

A button to show the history of the alerts, like casino have for example.

soryn Dec 3, 2015 2:58am | Post# 15

Congratulations on your new thread Aeseme........

dingdong99 Dec 3, 2015 3:05am | Post# 16

Congratulation on new thread...brother Aeseme...
hope this will run smootly...and get more idea....

Mooz Dec 3, 2015 3:09am | Post# 17

Congrats Aeseme ...........

Bernhard Dec 3, 2015 5:02am | Post# 18

keep going with the good work

project13et Dec 3, 2015 5:06am | Post# 19

Also a select / deselect of the pair. If you want to manual remove 2-3 pairs from trading for a current time.

aeseme Dec 3, 2015 5:10am | Post# 20

Congratulations on your new thread Aeseme........
Congratulation on new thread...brother Aeseme... hope this will run smootly...and get more idea....
Congrats Aeseme ...........
keep going with the good work
Thank you

braintheboss Dec 3, 2015 5:26am | Post# 21

Very good, aseme. But i have a doubt. I install all but PIN3 dont show arrows. I have maddash template in other chart. Only thing i have disable is auto trading in MT4.

aeseme Dec 3, 2015 5:26am | Post# 22

1 Attachment(s)
A button to show the history of the alerts, like casino have for example.
Got it.
Also a select / deselect of the pair. If you want to manual remove 2-3 pairs from trading for a current time.
I have this done already Name:  Image2.png
Views: 11206
Size:  5 KB...and I intend to make it available in the next revision as well.
I had to add a dedicated button to open charts by the way... it is the one at the left identified as [~]. I am not sure about where to place it yet, so it might be in a different location afterward..

project13et Dec 3, 2015 5:29am | Post# 23

{quote} Got it. {quote} I have this done already {image}...and I intend to make it available in the next revision as well. I had to add a dedicated button to open charts by the way... it is the one at the left identified as [~]. I am not sure about where to place it yet, so it might be in a different location afterward..

The position of ~ is very good. If you put it to far away it will be hard to keep track of it.

aeseme Dec 3, 2015 5:39am | Post# 24

Very good, aseme. But i have a doubt. I install all but PIN3 dont show arrows. I have maddash template in other chart. Only thing i have disable is auto trading in MT4.
The dashboard will only show arrows on PIN3 (after being properly configured) if there are alerts at MADdash side.
Can you confirm if your MADdashPIN is showing alerts already?

jamesT. Dec 3, 2015 5:59am | Post# 25

Congratulations aeseme for your extraordinary dashboard; this is also a masterpiece.

braintheboss Dec 3, 2015 6:18am | Post# 26

{quote} The dashboard will only show arrows on PIN3 (after being properly configured) if there are alerts at MADdash side. Can you confirm if your MADdashPIN is showing alerts already?
How can I know this? I have chart with template loaded. Have maddash and maddashpin indicators with default settings and I enabled pin3 button in your dash. Your dash have default settings too.

jamesT. Dec 3, 2015 6:23am | Post# 27

{quote} How can I know this? I have chart with template loaded. Have maddash and maddashpin indicators with default settings and I enabled pin3 button in your dash. Your dash have default settings too.
Can you show us your screenshot?

pabuuu Dec 3, 2015 7:07am | Post# 28

very but very good job aeseme

barbones Dec 3, 2015 7:08am | Post# 29

Congratz

traderhobby Dec 3, 2015 7:30am | Post# 30

Congratulazioniii
i follow you !!
Thanks

aeseme Dec 3, 2015 8:05am | Post# 31

Congratulations aeseme for your extraordinary dashboard; this is also a masterpiece.
very but very good job aeseme
Congratz
Congratulazioniii i follow you !! Thanks
Thank you!

aeseme Dec 3, 2015 8:07am | Post# 32

{quote} The position of ~ is very good. If you put it to far away it will be hard to keep track of it.
Yes, I agree that it shouldn't be too far from the pairs container, In fact I will try to fit it closer yet..
I still have some pending things regarding this since it implies several internal changes, but they are functional for their purpose already.
I have plans to also add selection of pairs by currency, by using the basket buttons (by now inactive) labeled with their own currency names. No ETA on this BTW.

Bernhard Dec 3, 2015 8:53am | Post# 33

{quote} How can I know this? I have chart with template loaded. Have maddash and maddashpin indicators with default settings and I enabled pin3 button in your dash. Your dash have default settings too.
aeseme, why not update default settings in last EA version and adapted it with new version needed. So user don't need change settings again after install

kasrafx Dec 3, 2015 9:26am | Post# 34

2 Attachment(s)
Thanks Aeseme for your great job and sharing the EA,
I have some problems with installation , can you help me to solve it?
thanks in advance.
Click to Enlarge

Name: FIBO Group.png
Size: 190 KB
Click to Enlarge

Name: FIBO Group1.png
Size: 278 KB

kasrafx Dec 3, 2015 9:31am | Post# 35

1 Attachment(s)
and another screenshot
Click to Enlarge

Name: FIBO Group2.png
Size: 207 KB

Bernhard Dec 3, 2015 9:57am | Post# 36

Thanks Aeseme for your great job and sharing the EA, I have some problems with installation , can you help me to solve it? thanks in advance. {image} {image}
aeseme thats what I am talking about. There are programmers and there are traders. and to setup the dash is not "user" friendly. It will be a great progress if we can make installations more easy.
cheers

aeseme Dec 3, 2015 10:09am | Post# 37

Thanks Aeseme for your great job and sharing the EA, I have some problems with installation , can you help me to solve it? thanks in advance. {image} {image}
It seems that you missed some steps. Please make sure that you have followed the instructions and read the included text files as well.
The package has sub-folders that needs to be preserved. Please review your installation and make sure that in fact everything is in place.
If you are still having issues after that, please report back to see where you got stuck and what can be done to help you further.

aeseme Dec 3, 2015 10:26am | Post# 38

{quote} aeseme, why not update default settings in last EA version and adapted it with new version needed. So user don't need change settings again after install
I don't get what you mean here.... Am I missing something perhaps?

{quote} aeseme thats what I am talking about. There are programmers and there are traders. and to setup the dash is not "user" friendly. It will be a great progress if we can make installations more easy. cheers
Do you meant that traders tend to be lazy?

aeseme Dec 3, 2015 10:39am | Post# 39

{quote} How can I know this? I have chart with template loaded. Have maddash and maddashpin indicators with default settings and I enabled pin3 button in your dash. Your dash have default settings too.
It seems that you are not familiar to MADdash since you don't know if it is showing alerts or not (or I got you wrong?)
If you want to use the MADdash plug-in, you should learn at least the basics of it, here is a link to it thread: MADdash (Moving Average Distance)
Now, if you are already used to it and knows how it works, please elaborate a bit more on your issue in order to try to better understand what could happen.

bazze Dec 3, 2015 12:58pm | Post# 40

2 Attachment(s)
Todays trades so far...LO-LC....Using the following setfiles, shared over at Gvc's thread...But, I should have had some advice on how to set a TP/SL. Because I see that the Dash is given pips back to the market after awhile, and I must be honest to say that I always struggle With setting up the TP and SL...So, please, somebodyExample: The amout of $ from the pic. fall approx. $20 in a few minutes. (Is it an idea to set "Use PIN3 as exit" to true?)
Offcourse, I know that the market can behave like this, but I wish to lock in some of the $ that is given back, before it happens...I need the pips more than the broker do...
Sorry, if this is a noob and question.....
Click to Enlarge

Name: MetaTrader 4 IC Markets.png
Size: 302 KB
MADash sets.zip


© Forex Factory