Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/)
-   Trading Discussion (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum/11-trading-discussion)
-   -   Semaphors and zig zags (https://www.forexfactory.com/thread/432741-semaphors-and-zig-zags)

jmn5611 Jun 15, 2013 10:49am | Post# 1

Semaphors and zig zags

I would like to discuss the ZZ semafor and why it is so disliked. I am thinking about starting a thread about one way to use the semafor, but first I would like to hear from some of you FF vets as to what is so wrong with this indicator. I find it to be quite handy.

Your thoughts?

jmn5611 Jun 15, 2013 12:39pm | Post# 2

I am still learning the culture here. I am not a new trader, but new to MT4. While learning the platform I came across the semaphor. Every thread I have seen seems to have issues with repainting indicators.

The Semaphor is SUPPOSED TO REPAINT. I don't understand why people have an issue with this.

All it is is a breakout indicator. Thanks, for your reply! It is appreciated.

jmn5611 Jun 15, 2013 12:53pm | Post# 3

1 Attachment(s)
So, why not when the semaphor makes a new high or low on the chart, just trade the breakout? Dredding has a great template that I added a compatible indicator to. This clearly shows the price action.
Click to Enlarge

Name: eurjpyh1.png
Size: 93 KB

jmn5611 Jun 15, 2013 1:03pm | Post# 4

Well I can use an analogy to explain the culture here. Let's say you go to a conference or lecture, and there's a podium for the keynote speaker and sitting arrangements for 200 guests. As the thread starter you assume the podium position and begin addressing the seated audience. But within a few minutes, a few of the visitors or guests will come up to the podium to speak as if they know more than you. So instead of listening to your lecture, these "FF vets" will actually stick around the stage and began to also teach your audience. Now you're...