Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum.php)
-   Commercial Content (https://www.forexfactory.com/forumdisplay.php?f=158)
-   -   FREE - FX News Alert application (https://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=310910)

FiatFap Aug 22, 2011 2:04pm | Post# 1

****** ****** *** *** *** *** ***

This version is no longer supported

Latest version can be found here
****** ****** *** *** *** *** ***



I created a simple alert many moons ago and have used it every day, all day since.

I just wanted something that I could open and forget, then get alerts when events occur.

I've read many threads here at FF, so I thought it was time to give something back to the community, so i re-skinned the app to make it look pretty and offer it for free with no registration, no obligation and i look forward to any feedback and/or suggestions.

It's only for Windows I'm afraid and i've only ever tested it on Win XP, so any Vista / Win 7 testers would be appreciated.

Here's a screenshot:

http://i.imgur.com/kMclx.png

I registered a website for the download: fx news alert

p.s. no more events today, so change your computer date/time to have a play and see how it functions but tomorrow is a smorgasbord of news, so you'll find the app very useful.
___________________________________________________________

Edit (7th Sept '11) for alpha ver 2.0 release

User case scenario

This is how I use the app...

Step 1:
Apply your filter preference - mine are set to 'all'
http://i.imgur.com/qDJoE.png

Step 2:
Set your alarm preference - mine is 15mins ahead of any event
http://i.imgur.com/MCegw.png

Step 3:
I then load the widget by clicking this icon on the main screen
http://i.imgur.com/a2wmV.png

Step 4:
I move the widget to the bottom right of my desktop, near the system tray, where i can quickly mute event by left clicking the icon when it's docked in the system tray.

http://i.imgur.com/p3EJw.png

I hover over the icon every now and then to see what's coming up. I either right click and delete the event or left click and press mute.
If it's an event of interest, I'll go back to main screen and reset the alarm to 5 or 2 minutes before the event.

KelvinM Aug 22, 2011 2:45pm | Post# 2

Great So Far!
 
Very nice application. I have Windows 7 and it installed just fine. It also sounded an alarm 15 minutes before mortgage news came out, just like I set it.

Thank you for providing this to the community.

All the best to you!

4rx Aug 22, 2011 2:55pm | Post# 3

Excellente ..!!!

Thanks a lot

forexhard Aug 22, 2011 3:26pm | Post# 4

Works great with my Windows 7 as well. Loads very fast. I've played around with other news applications, and this is the most user friendly by far. Nicely done.

3 comments: First, it forgot my settings when I exited. So I guess you have to reset all your preferences every time you start it up. That's kind of a pain. Second, the slider bar seems a but much. For me, a 1/2/5/15/30 min selection same as the bar timer would work just as well. Or even better, a blank customizable input box. Third would be a refresh button -- or again, a customizable window for how often you would like the indi to refresh.

The second 2 would be my wish list, but the first seems to be a problem that should be fixed.

Great work over-all. Thanks for sharing!

claypot Aug 22, 2011 4:44pm | Post# 5

Sensation!!! works on windows 32-bit vista! Thanks

Cheers.

jagui Aug 22, 2011 5:17pm | Post# 6

Thank you.

sofia101 Aug 22, 2011 5:21pm | Post# 7

I think it will work fine ) Thank you

rohule Aug 22, 2011 5:58pm | Post# 8

thank you so much pal, looks very good.

have a good one!!

qwedsazxc Aug 23, 2011 3:03am | Post# 9

I get an error.

Date time compare. Are dates same:
String was not recognized as a valid DateTime.

I'm running Win7.

Any ideas?

stevetwo Aug 23, 2011 1:21pm | Post# 10

This is a great little application.

The only problem I've had with it is a "script error" came up for some reason; but, it's only happened once so far.

Tader14 Aug 23, 2011 2:07pm | Post# 11

Its Simple and Its Brilliant
 
I like this app loads and will use it during my next trading day.

Brilliant idea and so useful.

Top Marks dude.

A.

Shabs19 Aug 23, 2011 2:14pm | Post# 12

Definitely will have a play with it. Thanks.

JeremyWS Aug 23, 2011 2:52pm | Post# 13

love it thanks

FiatFap Aug 24, 2011 11:29am | Post# 14

* UPDATE *
==New version available at fx news site or your old version should prompt you==


I live in the UK and only ever took into account the daylight savings, so other timezones didn't display for people; apologies for the oversight.

I've now included a settings screen, which you can view by clicking the cog thingy in the top right of the main screen.

There was a great feature request by forexhard for buttons instead of a slider - i think this works beautifully as it compounds the apps intention of click 'n forget.

Hopefully, also fixed the Date time compare error some may have experienced. If others get this message, please let me know which regional settings you use in Windows.

@stevetwo - was that script error on the Forex News Sites screen? It's an incompatibility with the browser and page scripts that is beyond my control. I get the same when i click dukascopy link, so i may remove that link for a better one.

Again, i welcome testers to see if this update installs okay and the timezones all work as they should.

Edit:

http://i.imgur.com/zVbXb.png

jtmoore007 Aug 24, 2011 11:55am | Post# 15

First let me say thanks. this is a nice piece of software to have in the background. I trade emini futures and therefore am only impacted by USD events. Is there a way to make it to where you are able to choose what events you want alarms based on country? thanks

FiatFap Aug 24, 2011 12:02pm | Post# 16

First let me say thanks. this is a nice piece of software to have in the background. I trade emini futures and therefore am only impacted by USD events. Is there a way to make it to where you are able to choose what events you want alarms based on country? thanks
That sounds like an easy request, i could squeeze it in somewhere in the new settings screen as a drop down list; let me have a play.

stevetwo Aug 24, 2011 12:23pm | Post# 17

@stevetwo - was that script error on the Forex News Sites screen? It's an incompatibility with the browser and page scripts that is beyond my control. I get the same when i click dukascopy link, so i may remove that link for a better one.

FiatFap, yes it was in the Forex News Sites screen. But, I got it from clicking on Fxstreet.com - Dukascopy worked fine.

Also, this might be a stupid question, but is there any way to just turn off the alarm once you're notified other than just muting it or clicking out of the application? Something along the lines of clicking in the alarm area to turn off and reset the alarm for the next news alert or an alarm reset button would be great.

Thanks.

jtmoore007 Aug 24, 2011 12:31pm | Post# 18

That sounds like an easy request, i could squeeze it in somewhere in the new settings screen as a drop down list; let me have a play.

Thanks

forexhard Aug 24, 2011 12:46pm | Post# 19

Amazing work, and quick, too. The time selection features are perfect, and it remembers my settings now, too.

My only other request would be a volume control & alarm choices. I literally jumped from my chair the first time the siren went off! LOL How about a numeric volume selection from 1-10, and a few basic Windows-type sound sets to pick from? Something a bit less dramatic? If you add the sound choices to the new settings window, then you can use the old siren space on the skin for the volume control.

FiatFap Aug 24, 2011 1:10pm | Post# 20

Amazing work, and quick, too. The time selection features are perfect, and it remembers my settings now, too.

My only other request would be a volume control & alarm choices. I literally jumped from my chair the first time the siren went off! LOL How about a numeric volume selection from 1-10, and a few basic Windows-type sound sets to pick from? Something a bit less dramatic? If you add the sound choices to the new settings window, then you can use the old siren space on the skin for the volume control.
Sounds like the settings screen will be the main app

I'll just plop another icon on the toolbar for sounds.

Your requests are easily implemented, but i'd prefer suggestions for sound files. Can you upload some for me to include? No more than 1-2 secs in length, so it doesn't loop over itself when it checks events.

@stevetwo - it already does that; if you want to ignore the news, you press [mute], then as it removes the event, it resets automatically to sound the next event so you don't forget. Have i misunderstood your request?


© Forex Factory