Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum.php)
-   Trading Systems (https://www.forexfactory.com/forumdisplay.php?f=71)
-   -   Pippo: A Murrey Maths Retrace EA (https://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=306988)

Meister81 Sep 2, 2011 10:32am | Post# 161

Hi folks,

how is it going? Is anybody using Pippo on a live account? If so how are your results so far?

Best regards!

carolco Sep 4, 2011 4:40pm | Post# 162

Hi Dietoke!
After some observations I made some progress trading MML manualy.. Is it possible to code Pippo as multi TF MML EA where on 4H TF price reaches 8 level and the pippo switch to lower 5 or 15 minTF to place a Pending order.?

The same behavior with reentries when the price goes against us..

Choosing timeframes could be variable (generaly there is not too much difference between 4h+5min or 1H+15min)

If it would be too complicated to code forget it.. I stick with my manual trading with less pairs..

Cheers

erwal Sep 5, 2011 5:07am | Post# 163

Hi folks,

how is it going? Is anybody using Pippo on a live account? If so how are your results so far?

Best regards!
I've put v18 on my live account (very conservative lot sizes) on just 6 pairs because of the resource/memory problems it creates.

It's behaving perfectly so far - no pending trades missed and all trading logic seems fine. Love this EA - just can't wait for the new version which uses less computer resource so I can expand the number of pairs traded.

batemap Sep 5, 2011 5:55am | Post# 164

Hi Dietoke!
After some observations I made some progress trading MML manualy.. Is it possible to code Pippo as multi TF MML EA where on 4H TF price reaches 8 level and the pippo switch to lower 5 or 15 minTF to place a Pending order.?

The same behavior with reentries when the price goes against us..

Choosing timeframes could be variable (generaly there is not too much difference between 4h+5min or 1H+15min)

If it would be too complicated to code forget it.. I stick with my manual trading with less pairs..

Cheers
Hi Carolco

To clarify or me.
You mean that once the price on the H4 TF reaches the MML8 line then switch to a lower TF (5 or 15 mins), where the MM Lines will be at different levels and look where the price is now in the grid. Set the pending orders to trigger based on the lower TF MM Lines.

If yes, I guess you are using the higher TF as a filter and MML8 would be the trigger for short trades and MML4 would be the trigger for long trades?

I'm not sure how difficult this would be to code, but if you can clarify I can check it out.

Thanks

Paul

P.S. I'm assuming this manual method is working well for you?

Gertje Sep 5, 2011 6:43am | Post# 165

Hi Dietcoke,

Breakthrough! The no-trading charts are not because of a logic problem, but because of memory/computer resource issues. I have 21 charts open on my MT4 demo, but Pippo works only the first 6 or so. I'm a bit slow in noticing that it's a chart order problem - sorry!

Just to verify, I changed the chart order around on my MT4 session, and I got trades on charts which have never worked previously as long as they are in the first 6 charts opened.

I closed down all other MT4 sessions in my VPS, but still couldn't persuade more charts to...
Did you try opening several installations of MT4 with the same account, running 6 pairs each?

erwal Sep 5, 2011 7:02am | Post# 166

Did you try opening several installations of MT4 with the same account, running 6 pairs each?
Hi Gertje,

I thought about doing this, but haven't tried it yet. Dietcoke knows what the problem is, so I'm waiting for/hoping for the new release soon before I have to settle for work-arounds.

As far as I can see, V18 is fine apart from this issue. I love the way it allocates a new magic number once a set of trades is hedged so it keeps on reaping the pips ... and the limit & stop order combo maximises every pip of profit. Both are excellent additions to original Pippo

Gertje Sep 5, 2011 7:24am | Post# 167

Hi Gertje,

I thought about doing this, but haven't tried it yet. Dietcoke knows what the problem is, so I'm waiting for/hoping for the new release soon before I have to settle for work-arounds.

As far as I can see, V18 is fine apart from this issue. I love the way it allocates a new magic number once a set of trades is hedged so it keeps on reaping the pips ... and the limit & stop order combo maximises every pip of profit. Both are excellent additions to original Pippo
Tnx for the reply.

To be honest, I haven't tried any of DC's versions yet. I wasn't able to get the first operational due to the separate Indi needed. I wait for the new one to give it a try.

In the meantime I'm still running a demo with Steve's very first version which performs great, especially on oil and gold using FXCM. See www.mt4i.com/users/gertje-fxcm

DerBerliner Sep 5, 2011 8:03am | Post# 168

Nice results ! We had a lot of versions here during the last months ... could you plz give a link again to your ea version/setfile YOU use ?

Gertje Sep 5, 2011 8:09am | Post# 169

Nice results ! We had a lot of versions here during the last months ... could you plz give a link again to your ea version/setfile YOU use ?
The version I use is no longer available on the thread, has been overridden by Steve. I'll try to post it asap.

Gertjan

Devonfgu Sep 5, 2011 8:09am | Post# 170

Tnx for the reply.

To be honest, I haven't tried any of DC's versions yet. I wasn't able to get the first operational due to the separate Indi needed. I wait for the new one to give it a try.

In the meantime I'm still running a demo with Steve's very first version which performs great, especially on oil and gold using FXCM. See www.mt4i.com/users/gertje-fxcm
Gertje,

looks very nice for your demo result, but in the meantime I try the Stev last version the performance not good compare with your result, could your share which versoin and the set file that you are running now.

Gertje Sep 5, 2011 8:28am | Post# 171

1 Attachment(s)
Gertje,

looks very nice for your demo result, but in the meantime I try the Stev last version the performance not good compare with your result, could your share which versoin and the set file that you are running now.
The version is the one attached, setfile is like it comes with the MM-period set to '0'. Open as much charts as possible, all on the H1 timeframe.

With FXCM, Oil and Gold are only tradable with full size lots [which are 10 ounces, barrels or whatever. It's 0,10 lot compared with Markets etc.], so there I changed the lotsize to 1, 2, 6 and 12.
Pippo 20110608 1.mq4

carolco Sep 5, 2011 8:57am | Post# 172

Hi Carolco

To clarify or me.
You mean that once the price on the H4 TF reaches the MML8 line then switch to a lower TF (5 or 15 mins), where the MM Lines will be at different levels and look where the price is now in the grid. Set the pending orders to trigger based on the lower TF MM Lines.

If yes, I guess you are using the higher TF as a filter and MML8 would be the trigger for short trades and MML4 would be the trigger for long trades?

I'm not sure how difficult this would be to code, but if you can clarify I can check it out.

Thanks

Paul

P.S....

Hi Paul.
Yes. I trade MM Lines manualy (when I have time to check them).

Sorry for not express this properly. Basicaly Im waiting for reversal on lower TF.
Example:
Price on 1H has reached 0/8 support line (I trade only 0/8-8/8 and extremes) so as the price are going down we are looking to place Buy pending order.

I switch to 5M tf and im waiting for reversal. Im looking till the candle goes through the nearest MM Level, it is not important which one it is.
Once the 5M candle breaks a level I place BuyStop pending 2 pips+spread above the high of that candle. If the pending is not filled it usualy means that trend continues and high of next 5M candle is a bit lower so I modify my pending and place it again 2pips+spread (this could be variable) above new lower high and i do it again and again till the pending is filled. Sometimes i place 20SL and MPTM to place BE when +20 pips or i let it run without SL. MPTM BE when +20 is running to manage all my trades all the time.

Now as i am thinkig about it for EA you do not need to code MultiTF MM EA. I think weŽll get same result when price reaches extreme on Higher TF we can start place pendings above/bellow highs/lows of lower TF.

It is just me who needs to see the lines all the time when im manual trading it..

taipan99 Sep 7, 2011 1:28am | Post# 173

Hi dietcoke,

I had done some demo on my vps and encountered a lot of errors:

EURGBP - OP_SELLLIMIT order send failed with error(130):invalid stops.

Could you solve it for us.

See here for more info:

http://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=275355

Also: http://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=217271

Answer from mladen:

The most probable cause for the error you are having is that your broker is an ECN / STP broker
When opening orders on ECN / STP broker you have to do it in 2 steps instead of the usual 1 :1. open an order WITHOUT SL and/or TP
2. Modify the order opened that way by setting your SL and/or TP

longshot_nl Sep 9, 2011 11:26pm | Post# 174

1 Attachment(s)
hi i made this indicator that can go back in time, any interest in it?
Click to Enlarge

Name: eur_usd_daily.jpg
Size: 109 KB

Marlin Man Sep 10, 2011 2:02am | Post# 175

Hello
 
hi i made this indicator that can go back in time, any interest in it?
Yes, that is fantastic. I REALLY hope DC finds some time to work on this ea. Would you mind posting it? Thanks

droland Sep 10, 2011 3:01pm | Post# 176

Hi Dietcoke.

Could you give us an update on your current version Pippo (18 or higher).

Thanks

Dave R.

longshot_nl Sep 10, 2011 4:44pm | Post# 177

1 Attachment(s)
Yes, that is fantastic. I REALLY hope DC finds some time to work on this ea. Would you mind posting it? Thanks
Ok i made it yesterday becouse i was bored.
Its free of course but if you get ritch becouse of it give me some money
Good luck.
MurreyMath_History.mq4

Marlin Man Sep 11, 2011 1:00am | Post# 178

Ok i made it yesterday becouse i was bored.
Its free of course but if you get ritch becouse of it give me some money
Good luck.
Great! Thanks

dietcoke Sep 15, 2011 6:44pm | Post# 179

All,

I won't be continuing any work with Pippo.

Basically, having run it on test in various scenarios, eventually it "always" has you jumping through hoops to recover from massive drawdowns.

I know that plenty of you are comfortable with this no stop type of trading and recovery but it's not something I can trade.

I do believe that Murrey Math lines can work as S/R, just not in this format and it is likely that at some point, I will look to code something that uses them.

If anyone is interested in taking this forward, I'll post the latest code.

DC

droland Sep 15, 2011 6:48pm | Post# 180

All,

I won't be continuing any work with Pippo.

Basically, having run it on test in various scenarios, eventually it "always" has you jumping through hoops to recover from massive drawdowns.

I know that plenty of you are comfortable with this no stop type of trading and recovery but it's not something I can trade.

I do believe that Murrey Math lines can work as S/R, just not in this format and it is likely that at some point, I will look to code something that uses them.

If anyone is interested in taking this forward, I'll post the latest...
Thanks for your effort here and your observations. If you ever start a thread of your own on something, maybe post a note here so we can follow your work.

Best Regards

Dave R.


© Forex Factory