Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum.php)
-   Trading Discussion (https://www.forexfactory.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   technical analysis -or- fundamental analysis (https://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=30140)

aqibsherwani May 17, 2007 12:44pm | Post# 1

technical analysis -or- fundamental analysis

i recently went to a trading seminar and the guy said:

- u can either trade using tech analysis or fundamental analysis.
- either way u only need to concentrate on one and NOT both.

is that really true when it comes to forex?

Sidus May 17, 2007 12:58pm | Post# 2

I'm a technical trader. But I use fundamentals to know the big picture of a cross. So a technical trader and a fundamental investor!

spudbox May 17, 2007 1:01pm | Post# 3

Depends on the individual trader.

I use fundies for the big picture, long term view (Days & weeks ahead)

Technicals on the short term stuff. (Scalps, 5 min to a few hours)

I think the blanket term of you have to choose one or the other is incorrect.

november15th May 17, 2007 1:02pm | Post# 4

well thats one version of the truth. i personally wouldnt say that a tacit awareness of either side can hurt - however if you demonstrate a known expectancy using solely one form of analysis there may be no need to fill in the blanks. worse, the other side of things may distract and therefore detract from that, which i guess is the point of the speaker. either way your job is to 1. discern a level of value at current price in view of past prices 2. gather and evaluate information concerning future prices

curious, what was your initial reaction when you were told this?

Why Oh Why May 17, 2007 1:05pm | Post# 5

He's wrong.