Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum.php)
-   Commercial Content (https://www.forexfactory.com/forumdisplay.php?f=158)
-   -   LMAX = revolution?!? (https://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=266866)

Jfk Jun 1, 2012 2:21am | Post# 1041

I just watch futures level 2 and volume feed.. since I already have real time CME data coming in on another platform for free.
Yes, Ninja/CQG? A good deal. Just thought it could be useful to see aggregated spot (if it really is EBS, FX All, Reuters etc).

shrike Jun 1, 2012 4:54am | Post# 1042

According to their forum, its got neither EBS nor Reuters, but "thousands of bank feeds" (??). Impossible to say what its worth, if they dont tell where they get their data from, and then dont include 2 of the biggest venues.

ns_karthik Jun 1, 2012 5:13am | Post# 1043

if anyone is interested in trading with LMAX, with their ultra tight spreads and low charges(euro has an average spread of 0.4 pips opposed to more than 1.5 pips at most brokers), send me a PM....

dikdikdik Jun 1, 2012 5:24am | Post# 1044

Hi all,

Maybe it is a foolish question. I live chat with some broker and ask them about bonus/promotion/affiliation program. If they say that they provide and this program is very attractive, doesn't it mean they are bad? If they say they cannot provide or their program is not enough to make money for me, and they only focus to improve service for customer, can I believe they are good. Just one point in many things to check broker.

I have some demo with true demo platform of ArmadaMarket. The connection and executed speed is fine for me

Jfk Jun 1, 2012 5:24am | Post# 1045

According to their forum, its got neither EBS nor Reuters, but "thousands of bank feeds" (??). Impossible to say what its worth, if they dont tell where they get their data from, and then dont include 2 of the biggest venues.
Can you imagine the logistics of aggregating 'thousands of banks'? Sounds a bit iffy.

unknown4x Jun 1, 2012 8:07am | Post# 1046

Can you imagine the logistics of aggregating 'thousands of banks'? Sounds a bit iffy.
As far as i know they just aggregate the usual exchanges like currenex, hotspot, lava etc. I might be wrong though. They have stated a few times though that it is NOT EBS just that it is supposed to be almost identical.

shrike Jun 1, 2012 8:13am | Post# 1047

There are only ~16 marketmaking banks in fx who constantly stream quotes. And a bank would certainly not disclose their client's bids and offers, let alone their own, except their marketmaking activity (that would be rather silly). I agree that its probably a few ECNs. For me its certainly not worth paying $100/month for that - especially since they dont even tell you what data they exactly provide. Could be anything really.

Jack_Larkin Jun 1, 2012 8:50am | Post# 1048

Yes, Ninja/CQG? A good deal. Just thought it could be useful to see aggregated spot (if it really is EBS, FX All, Reuters etc).
I just use my work's CME data feed mostly, but I've written a few indicators for thinkorswim's platform that I like and also get real time CME/CBOE quotes from them with market depth without a cost to myself (got grandfathered into one of their full featured accounts from before the TDA merger.)

The trouble is, even if 'the fx book' provides Reuters EBS data (which I don't think they do), you're still not going to see the whole market. It's better than nothing for sure, but I can infer the same market info from futures in most cases.

Jfk Jun 1, 2012 9:21am | Post# 1049

I just my work's CME data feed mostly, but I've written a few indicators for thinkorswim's platform that I like and also get real time CME/CBOE quotes from them with market depth without a cost to myself (got grandfathered into one of their full featured accounts from before the TDA merger.)

The trouble is, even if 'the fx book' provides Reuters EBS data (which I don't think they do), you're still not going to see the whole market. It's better than nothing for sure, but I can infer the same market info from futures in most cases.
I agree. And futures volume seems to be on the increase (in euro, at least).

666 Jun 1, 2012 1:33pm | Post# 1050

Trading with lmax feed
 
Update: So, second day real money trading with Armada: I got every time slippage of approxiametely 2 pips during my scalping. Result 1.3+2.0=3.3 pips practical between bid and ask. May this is normal for a trader who has never seen a clean execution with futures trading.

I will stay where I belong, at my futures broker and trade the micro euro with one pip spread and no slippage.

ns_karthik Jun 1, 2012 1:39pm | Post# 1051

Update: So, second day real money trading with Armada: I got every time slippage of approxiametely 2 pips during my scalping. Result 1.3+2.0=3.3 pips practical between bid and ask. May this is normal for a trader who has never seen a clean execution with futures trading.

I will stay where I belong, at my futures broker and trade the micro euro with one pip spread and no slippage.
armada is a broker....lmax is not....thats why u should be trading directly with lmax rather than thru armada...

666 Jun 1, 2012 1:41pm | Post# 1052

Exactly
 
Thanks for the reply. I read a lot about Lmax and Armada, but when you do not try it for yourself you will not know it. Now it's time for lmax. I can differentiate about a real exchange and a video game after 15 years of futures trading. So I hope I will not just lose my time with Lmax (like it happens with Armada).

ns_karthik Jun 1, 2012 1:44pm | Post# 1053

yeah ok....lets see what we can do....

Marv Jun 1, 2012 1:50pm | Post# 1054

armada is a broker....lmax is not....thats why u should be trading directly with lmax rather than thru armada...
No, it's an introducing bröker.

There is no difference what IB you're using to access the LMAX exchange. What makes the difference is using the MT4 bridge (and other less significant factors like your distance from the LMAX servers).

I can differentiate about a real exchange and a video game after 15 years of futures trading. So I hope I will not just lose my time with Lmax (like it happens with Armada).
Avoid MT4 if that's what you want.

Marv Jun 1, 2012 1:50pm | Post# 1055

People of ForexFactory,

MT4 is by design not suitable for real ECN/Exchange environments. So called "MT4 bridges" are mere workarounds and not solutions to this. If you want the real thing, avoid MT4.

Thank you & good day.


(MT4 facts like this should be all written in one thread and stickied or something so that everybody can see it. I'm too lazy to do it.)

unknown4x Jun 1, 2012 1:53pm | Post# 1056

if anyone is interested in trading with LMAX, with their ultra tight spreads and low charges(euro has an average spread of 0.4 pips opposed to more than 1.5 pips at most brokers), send me a PM....
Why don't you openly state what you are trying to sell?

ns_karthik Jun 1, 2012 1:54pm | Post# 1057

Why don't you openly state what you are trying to sell?
did i mean anything else?

ns_karthik Jun 1, 2012 1:55pm | Post# 1058

No, it's an introducing bröker.
they r a white label...not IB...

Yosefx Jun 1, 2012 1:57pm | Post# 1059

1 Attachment(s)
I agree. And futures volume seems to be on the increase (in euro, at least).
I think you guys are right, that is my setup as well. Keeping opened both future and Lmax side by side. Here is a picture with 2 charts(LMAX/6EFuture) and the depth of Market for both. As you see LMAX liquidity and spread is not bad at all.
Click to Enlarge

Name: spread.png
Size: 127 KB

ns_karthik Jun 1, 2012 1:57pm | Post# 1060

Why don't you openly state what you are trying to sell?
i am not selling anything....i came to know some of their top people thru another deal that i have with them.....and when i came across this thread, i thought i could help by pulling some strings...if no one needs it, fine with me...i have better things to do....


© Forex Factory