Forex Factory (https://www.forexfactory.com/forum.php)
-   Rookie Talk (https://www.forexfactory.com/forumdisplay.php?f=56)
-   -   1 MA 1 TF my humble system (https://www.forexfactory.com/showthread.php?t=181829)

yuan83 Jul 10, 2009 11:21am | Post# 1

1 MA 1 TF my humble system

Hi, I will like to a system which I thought out. But before posting, i must say about my background. I want to claim that I am no professional trader. I will admit I am a noob to begin with. I blew my 1st live acct in 1 mth (after doubling my demo acct in less than a mth). For my 2nd account, I gain close to 20% in 1 month, before losing my profit in just 1 trade! in 2 days, followed by losing another 20% trying to gamble.

Why am I saying all these? just wanted to say that I am too vulnerable to greed and fear. And I dun really have a system. I will say for me, only mechanical system will work for me. And I am here to want to share one such system to you.

I must apologise it is not totally complete. Hence might need your help to perfect the system.

Here it is: you only need 1 line. 250EMA.
TF: M5
pair: any, but low range pairs might not be that suitable

How it works,
basically when the m5 candle closes on the opposite side of the 250EMA, if above, LONG, if below, SHORT.

How to prevent whipsaw? You may ask.
You need at least 15 m5 candles to be on the opposite side to enter.
Example, candle closes below 250EMA, you need to check that there are 15 (can be refined) m5 candles above the line before you can SHORT. and vice versa.

SL: for less volatile pair, eg EU and GU, 50pips
volatile pair eg EJ and GJ with larger daily range, 80pips.(hope someone can improve these numbers).

TP: no TP,
for EU, when 50 pips is hit, move SL to BE. Keep moving. (Maybe using a trailing stop will be an alternative to lock in profits)
for GJ, use 80 pips

Re-entry.